Here is a reminder of Brisbane’s trams which, in the period 1885-1969, boasted vehicles with names like Toast Rack, Ten Bench, Dreadnought and Phoenix. To recapture that nostalgia, make time to visit the Brisbane Tramway Museum at Ferny Grove.
The Parish of Christ Church Milton dates from 1873 and this ‘temporary’ church dates from 1891. Today this Precinct comprising Church, Rectory and Memorial Garden is dwarfed by the football stadium known, historically, as Lang Park.
This statue of onetime Queensland Premier Thomas Joseph Byrnes [1860-1898] was unveiled in August 1902. Fashioned by Bertram [later Sir] Mackennal, the statue measures 9 foot 6 inches and stands 22 feet above ground level.
The Spring Hill Baths was constructed in 1886 at a cost of £2, 526. With its individual changing cubicles, old-fashioned signage and elevated seating, the pavilion is a fascinating part of Brisbane’s living history.
This lych-gate marks the entrance to a memorial precinct that bears the name ‘Rest for the Weary’. Here, a number of pioneers of the district are interred; a story told by the Queensland Women’s Historical Association in one of that Organisation’s distinctive plaques.
Former Government Printing Office. George Street, BRISBANE.
Here is one of seven ‘devilish’ stone carvings on the 1910 section of this building that delight and intrigue. It has been suggested – perhaps unkindly – that four of the seven are representations of the politicians from that time.